top of page

Book Reviews!

  • Writer's picturedreamy.reads

Black Light: Fearless Book Review

Black Light: Fearless (Black Light #10) by Maren Smith


"He was the last thing she thought she needed, but she was everything he wanted."


Black Light: Fearless is my first book by this author and this book captured my interested from the very first page.


This book is intense, gripping, and so intriguing.


I haven't read a book quite like this one and I'm glad that I did! It grips at your heart and tugs and tugs and tugs. I went through an array of emotions: happy, sad, enraged, and hopeful. I will say that there are trigger warnings for this, especially in the beginning.


It has very intense pet play and abuse.

 

Let me start with Ethen.


I absolutely loathed Ethen. He was brutal, cold, calculated, unlikable. He truly did not care at all about what he was doing to the women and how he treated them. It was hard to read through how he treated these 'menagerie,' in which he referred to the women as. And I couldn't help but feel bad for the situation they were in, whether they wanted it or not.


Kitty.


I was intrigued by her character. I loved her vulnerablity and I admired her strength. Under the circumstances, she was resilent. Even though she was helpless, she thought on her toes. Ethen, her abusive ex, treated her like she was a rag doll, a play thing. I was glad when she was able to get out of the place he kept them tucked away in.


"I am a good girl.


I am safe.


I am loved.


I don't have to be afraid of anything."


Noah.


Hot, alpha male who is able to control his anger.


I was really suprised by how much I loved his character. I didn't expect him to be a Dom, and I certainly didn't expect him to take in someone who's so damaged. The natural progression of him and Kitty's relationship was facinating. The way he cared and wanted to protect her was sweet. And what I really admired was how much he wanted her to heal from the damage and abuse, not just physically, but mentally and emotionally as well. His compassion, his patience, and his understanding shined through! I fell in love with Noah's character and the fact that he was willing to do anything to get to Kitty once he realized how he felt, and how important she was to him.

 

One thing did really surprised me was that Kitty being an actual kitty. I've never read anything like it before and the way she found herself, being able to feel comfortable in her own skin, in who she is. I loved that about Kitty. I knew she was just as amazing as Noah saw her, even under all the abuse that Ethen did.


The confrontation between Kitty and Ethen was something I was waiting for and I'm glad that Smith delivered! And when Noah and Ethen shared their confrontation, I was cheering him on and hoping he'd do more.


This story really shows you how much life has to offer after being in the dark and feeling stripped of who you are. It truly captures the meaning of healing and aftercare, in all aspects. It proves that there is light at the end of the tunnel.


This is my first book by this author and definitely will not be my last! I hope we get to see more of Noah and Kitty!


Four and a half Dreamy Stars: 💫💫💫💫💫

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page